Southeast Crescent Regional Commission Established

Established as a federal-state partnership by the 2008 Farm Bill, Southeast Crescent Regional Commission (SCRC) was authorized to begin operating with the confirmation of a Federal Co-Chair in December 2021. The purpose of the SCRC is to build sustainable communities and promote economic growth across a seven- state region – Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Virginia. SCRC will receive annual appropriations from Congress to invest in economic and infrastructure development projects that reduce the effects of persistent poverty, unemployment and outmigration.

The program mirrors the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC).  The CSPDC will act as the local administrator of the program and provide technical assistance to the SCRC – eligible communities in our PDC:  Augusta, Staunton, Waynesboro, Rockingham, and Harrisonburg.  To learn more about SCRC please go to:


Posted in News.