

# Minutes Central Shenandoah Planning District Commission Meeting Stonewall Jackson Hotel, 24 South Market Street, Staunton, Virginia August 20, 2018, 6:00 p.m.

Member Jurisdiction Representatives						
	Augusta County		City of Staunton		Staff	
✓	Terry Kelley	<b>✓</b>	Carolyn Dull	✓	Bonnie Riedesel, Executive Director	
✓	Marshall Pattie, Treasurer	<b>✓</b>	Sharon Angle	✓	Rebecca Joyce, Community Program Manager	
	Vickie Moran	<	<b>Rockbridge County</b>	✓	Elizabeth McCarty, Director of Planning	
✓	Leslie Tate		Jay Lewis	✓	Ann Cundy, Transportation Program Manager	
✓	<b>Bath County</b>	<	Chris Slaydon	✓	Nancy Gourley, Transit Program Manager	
✓	Edward Hicklin	<b>✓</b>	Rockingham County	✓	Cindi Johnson, Fiscal Officer	
✓	City of Buena Vista	<b>✓</b>	Ned Overton	✓	Rita Whitfield, Office Manager	
	Lisa Clark		Rick Chandler			
✓	City of Harrisonburg		Rhonda Cooper		Others	
	Ted Byrd	<b>✓</b>	Kim Sandum	✓	Eric Campbell, City of Harrisonburg	
✓	George Hirschmann	<b>✓</b>	City of Waynesboro	✓	Bradford Dyjak, Rockingham County	
✓	Adam Fletcher	<b>✓</b>	Terry Short			
✓	<b>Highland County</b>		Rusty Johnson			
✓	Kevin Wagner, Vice Chair					
<b>√</b>	City of Lexington					
✓	Frank Friedman, Chairman					

## Call to Order

The August 20, 2018, Central Shenandoah Planning District Commission meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Chairman Friedman. Chairman Friedman introduced and welcomed Mr. Bradford Dyjak, Rockingham County and Mr. Eric Campbell, Harrisonburg City Manager.

#### **Public Comment**

Chairman Friedman opened the floor to the public for comments. There were no public comments.

#### **Minutes**

Chairman Friedman presented the minutes from the June 18, 2018, CSPDC Commission meeting. There being no corrections or additions, Chairman Friedman declared the minutes approved as presented.

## **Treasurer's Report**

Chairman Friedman presented for consideration the Treasurer's Report (attached to file minutes). Dr. Pattie gave a report on the June 30, 2018, Financial Statement. He noted that Brown Edwards will begin conducting the CSPDC audit in September and reported on the year-end preaudit figures. Dr. Pattie moved, seconded by Mr. Kelley, to approve the Treasurer's Report as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

## **Election of Executive Committee Members (BAF #18-13)**

Chairman Friedman presented for consideration Election of Executive Committee Members. Ms. Riedesel stated that two vacancies on the Executive Committee have occurred with the departure of Mr. Jeff Feeman of Waynesboro and Mr. Casey Armstrong of Rockingham County. She distributed copies of the ballot, asking everyone to vote for two members. Mrs. Riedesel noted that once the ballots had been tabulated, the new Executive Committee members will be announced at the end of the meeting.

## **Consideration of Resolutions of Support for 2018 SMART SCALE Applications (BAF #18-15)**

Chairman Friedman presented for consideration Resolutions of Support for 2018 SMART SCALE applications. Ms. Cundy gave a review on the SMART SCALE applications. She stated that Augusta County submitted an application for safety improvements at the intersection of Virginia Route 254 and Route 640 under the SMART SCALE Round 3 application cycle. Ms. Cundy also reviewed an application submitted by BRITE Transit for bus stop and safety improvements at the intersection of U.S. 250 and Sangers Lane/Brand Station Road under the SMART SCALE Round 3 application cycle. Dr. Pattie moved, seconded by Mr. Kelley, for approval of the Resolution of Support for the 2018 SMART SCALE application for Augusta County. Motion was carried, with Mr. Short abstaining. Dr. Pattie moved, seconded by Mr. Kelley, for approval of the Resolution of Support for the 2018 SMART SCALE application for BRITE Transit. Motion was carried, with Mr. Short abstaining.

## Commonwealth Intergovernmental Review Process (CIRPs) (BAF #18-7)

Chairman Friedman presented for consideration Commonwealth Intergovernmental Review Process (CIRPs). Dr. Pattie moved, seconded by Mr. Kelley, to endorse the staff recommendations on agenda items 7A through 7C. Motion carried unanimously. They are as follows:

- A. An application submitted by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) for \$5,555,244 in federal funding for Chesapeake Bay Implementation Grant (CBIG III) Amendment 1. These funds will be used to accomplish objectives of the Virginia Chesapeake Bay TMDL Phase I and Phase II Watershed Implementations Plans, and Virginia's Milestones, with an emphasis on nonpoint source pollution reduction programs. Staff recommends endorsement.
- B. An application submitted by Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) for \$7,259,010 in federal funding for Chesapeake Bay Regulatory and Accountability Program (CBRAP II) Amendment 3. CBRAP grants aid the six Bay watershed states in implementing and expanding

their regulatory, accountability, assessment, compliance, and enforcement capabilities in support of reducing nitrogen, phosphorus and sediment loads delivered to the Bay to meet the Water Quality Goal of the 2014 Chesapeake Bay Watershed Agreement and the Bay TMDL. Staff recommends endorsement.

C. An application submitted by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) for \$5,270,667 in federal funding for 2018 Section 319(h) Nonpoint Source Implementation (NPS). Section 319(h) of the Federal Clean Water Act requires that states develop and implement nonpoint source pollution management programs. Staff recommends endorsement.

#### **Executive Committee Election Results**

Chairman Friedman advised the Commission that the votes for two Commission members to fill the unexpired terms on the Executive Committee had been tabulated. He announced that Mr. Rick Chandler, representative from Rockingham County, and Mr. Terry Short, representative from the City of Waynesboro, will serve as the new Executive Committee members.

# Adjournment

Chairman Friedman announced that the next CSPDC Commission meeting will be held on Monday, October 15, 2018. There being no further business to come before the Commission, a motion for adjournment was unanimously passed at 6:15 p.m. Commission members then proceeded to the CSPDC Annual Dinner and presentations.

	Respectfully submitted,	Respectfully submitted,		
	Rita F. Whitfield			
	Clerk to the Commission			
Approved:				
Frank Friedman				
Chairman				